The Book of Tea

Mar 4, 2013 by

BookTeaThe Book of Tea by Okakura Kakuzo was originally published in 1906 and includes: The cup of humanity.–The schools of tea.–Taoism and Zennism.–The tea-room.–Art appreciation.–Flowers.–Tea-masters.  If you are a tea lover this book is a must have for you.

There are seven chapters, here is a quick preview of the first three:

Chapter I.
The Cup of Humanity Tea ennobled into Taoism, a religion of aestheticism, the adoration of the beautiful among everyday facts — Taoism developed among both nobles and peasants — The mutual misunderstanding of the New World and the Old— The Worship of Tea in the West — Early records of Tea in European writing — The Taoists’ version of the combat between Spirit and Matter — The modern struggle for wealth and power

Chapter II.
The Schools of Tea The three stages of the evolution of Tea — The Boiled Tea, the Whipped Tea, and the Steeped Tea, representative of the Tang, the Sung, and the Ming dynasties of China — Luwuh, the first apostle of Tea— The Tea-ideals of the three dynasties — To the latter-day Chinese Tea is a delicious beverage, but not an ideal — In Japan Tea is a religion of the art of life

Chapter III.
Taoism and Zennism The connection of Zennism with Tea — Taoism, and its successor Zennism, represent the individualistic trend of the Southern Chinese mind — Taoism accepts the mundane and tries to find beauty in our world of woe and worry — Zennism emphasizes the teachings of Taoism — Through consecrated meditation may be attained supreme self-realisation — Zennism, like Taoism, is the worship of Relativity — Ideal of Teaism a result of the Zen conception of great- ness in the smallest incidents of life — Taoism furnished the basis for aesthetic ideals, Zennism made them practical


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *